Larson Named 2024 Secondary Teacher of the Year

On March 21, 2024 Baldwin County Public Schools announced Mr. Scott Larson as the 2024 Secondary Teacher of the Year for Baldwin County Public Schools at the Annual Teacher of the Year Banquet.

Scott Larson teaches building construction at North Baldwin Center for Technology in Bay Minette, Alabama. Originally a contractor, his education career began by chance when he was encouraged by a client, a high school counselor, to apply for a construction teaching job.

Having experienced difficulty finding qualified candidates for open positions as a contractor, and knowing other contractors were having the same challenge, he felt called to apply his experience to train the next generation.

Larson teaches a broad, comprehensive construction curriculum that covers everything from site preparation to the finishing phases of construction. He offers Construction Math and Project Management classes to expose students to estimating materials and costs and supervising projects -critical skills in managing their own businesses.

His teaching is centered around collaboration and extensive hands-on training that prepares students for careers or further education after completing high school. Larson helps students learn by using online instructional resources, working side-by-side with students, and providing students with multiple project options. He works to prepare his students for their next steps and helps connect them to these opportunities.

Larson has a master’s degree in Forest Resources from the University of Georgia and earned National Board for Professional Teaching Standards in 2022. He served on the Board of Directors for Alabama SkillsUSA and as a Fund for Teachers Fellow, helped create new coursework in CNC wood technology and technical math for the Alabama State Department of Education, and was awarded the Go Build Alabama GTE Program Award in 2015. Most recently, Mr. Larson was named a winner in the Harbor Freight “Tools for Schools” grant program! He was one of the grand prize winners of $100,000, one of only a few from across the country!